MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING FIRE AND POLICE PENSION FUND, SAN ANTONIO WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 18, 2015 PENSION OFFICE – 1:00 P.M.

COMMITTEE

MEMBERS: Fire Engineer Dean Pearson, Active Fire Representative; Sergeant

Jim Smith; Active Police Representative.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

ABSENT: Captain Shawn Ury, Active Police Representative.

OTHERS PRESENT:

Warren Schott, Executive Director; Mark Gremmer, Deputy Director; Erik Dahler; Larry Reed, Fire Retiree Representative; J. T. Trevino, Active Fire Representative; Frank Burney and Jon Lowe, Martin & Drought.

At 1:00 p.m., Mr. Pearson called the meeting to order. Roll was called, and a quorum was declared present.

The Committee then recessed to Executive Session at 1:00 p.m. pursuant to Texas Govt. Code §551.071.

The Committee reconvened at 1:15 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Mr. Smith moved to approve the minutes of the meeting of January 29, 2015. The motion carried unanimously.

REVIEW & DISCUSSION

TEXAS 84TH (2015) LEGISLATIVE SESSION (INCLUDING LEGISLATIVE AGENDA, TIMELINE, PROCESS, OUTLOOK, UPCOMING MEETINGS OF INTEREST, MEETINGS ATTENDED AND RELATED ACTIVITIES)

Mr. Burney updated the Committee about recent City Council meetings and their inaction on the Pension Fund legislative package. Other upcoming meetings of interest were also discussed.

PROPOSED 2015 LEGISLATIVE PACKAGE

Mr. Schott requested the Committee review the final version of the proposed bill amending the Pension Law. The Committee had reviewed the bill in January and had requested several changes. The changes had been made as requested, but the Committee was asked

to make sure staff and legal counsel captured all of the items. Mr. Schott pointed out, in particular, the COLA language which is tied to a minimum funding level of 90%. No concerns were raised. No action was taken on this item because the Board had taken prior action to direct staff to move forward with the bill. Staff and legal counsel will proceed with steps to file the bill.

ADJOURNMENT:	The committee adjourned at 1:40 p.m.
	Approved this day of, 2015.
	Dean Pearson, Chairman